Vale of York

The CCG area of the Vale of York covers approximately 857 square miles and a patient population in the region of 351,000. The area runs broadly north to south through beautiful North Yorkshire.

The 26 GP practices are a mix of urban and rural, being located in the City of York and the towns of Selby, Tadcaster, Kirkbymoorside, Pickering and Pocklington as well as in a number of outlying villages.

GP practices are involved in working together in different projects. Some practices have formed links with others and have formed alliances. These alliances include:

  • City & Vale GP Alliance (CAVA) which represents some central and many more rural practices,
  • Nimbus are an alliance of 4 of the larger central York practices
  • SHIELD is the name for the Selby practices

Not all practices are in these alliances but all share an aspiration to work together for the benefit of patients.


Beech Tree Surgery

Dalton Terrace Surgery

East Parade Medical Practice

Elvington Medical Practice

Escrick Surgery

Front Street Surgery

Haxby Group Practice

Helmsley Surgery

Jorvik Gillygate Practice

Kirkbymoorside Surgery

Millfield Surgery

My Health Group

Pickering Medical Practice

Pocklington Group Practice

Posterngate Surgery

Priory Medical Group

Scott Road Medical Centre

Sherburn Group Practice

South Milford Surgery

Stillington Surgery

Tadcaster Medical Centre

Terrington Surgery

The Old School Medical Practice

Tollerton Surgery

Unity Health

York Medical Group